Fall Fire Season is October 1 – December 31
Burning is prohibited during this time from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Burning Permits - WV Division of Forestry

Burning Permits

Obtain Your Burning Permit

Commercial burning permits may be obtained by public utilities and people burning in conjunction with commercial, manufacturing, mining or like activities. These burning permits cost $125 each and are issued by local Division of Forestry offices. A permit is required for each site where this type of burning takes place.

Regional Offices

Region 1 Office

Serving the counties of Barbour, Brooke, Hancock, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Monongalia, Ohio, Preston, Taylor, Tucker and Wetzel

Region 2 Office

Serving the counties of Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral, Morgan and Pendleton

Region 3 Office

Serving the counties of Braxton, Clay, Lewis, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Randolph, Upshur and Webster

Region 4 Office

Serving the counties of Fayette, Greenbrier, McDowell, Mercer, Monroe, Raleigh, Summers and Wyoming

Region 5 Office

Serving the counties of Boone, Cabell, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Putnam, and Wayne

Region 6 Office

Serving the counties of Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt and Wood

After you have contacted your designated regional office about obtaining a burning permit you are now able to pay for your permit online with a debit or credit card. Please make sure you have your permit number ready for payment.

I want to know more about...

Forest Legacy Program thumbnail

Forest Legacy Program

Stewardship thumbnail


Fall Foliage thumbnail

Fall Foliage

Managed Timberland Program thumbnail

Managed Timberland Program

Logging thumbnail


Industry Assistance thumbnail

Industry Assistance

Ginseng thumbnail


Planting Trees thumbnail

Planting Trees

News Releases thumbnail

News Releases

Project Learning Tree thumbnail

Project Learning Tree

Invasive Species thumbnail

Invasive Species

Conservation Education thumbnail

Conservation Education


The West Virginia Division of Forestry is committed to protecting, nurturing, sustaining, and promoting the wise utilization of our state’s forest resources.


Established in 1909, as a declaration of the state government for the need of forest protection and research, the West Virginia Division of Forestry protects and conserves the state’s forest resources.